Mercy College Hosts Fourth Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner

Mercy College Hosts Fourth Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner

Mercy College is pleased to officially announce the inductees in the College’s fourth Athletics Hall of Fame class. Individuals being enshrined are golfer Clayton Johnson (Class of 2001), basketball star Tom Sivulich (’80), volleyball standout Debra Waite Connery Smith (’96), and baseball great Chris Walpole (’90). Also being inducted will be the 1975-76 women’s basketball team, led for former head coach Cathi Wasilik.

The Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner, which will honor the 2011 inductees and celebrate athletics alumni from class years ending in 1 and 6, will take place on Thursday, March 31, 2011, at the Ardsley Country Club, in Ardsley, N.Y. The cocktail reception begins at six o'clock, with dinner and the formal program to begin at seven.

Mercy College will also present the Dr. Ann Grow Friend of Athletics Award to Bill Delaney (’80), while the women’s soccer program will receive the Neil Judge Scholar-Athlete Award, for achieving the highest cumulative grade point average among all teams on campus.

“These are some of the all-time greats in Mercy College athletics history and we are honored to have them as part of the Mercy College family,” Director of Athletics Pat Kennedy said. “They have built a great tradition and legacy of pride for the program that we look to carry on and build on for years to come.”

In total, there are now 18 individual members of the Hall of Fame, which began in 2006. Additionally, two teams have achieved immortality.